Go Back   Jeep Liberty Forum - JeepKJ Country > Preferred Vendors > Automotive Parts Unlimited



Automotive Parts Unlimited

How to Upgrading Uconnect Radio from 5 to 6.5 with GPS, what’s your opinion?


This is a discussion on How to Upgrading Uconnect Radio from 5 to 6.5 with GPS, what’s your opinion? within the Automotive Parts Unlimited forums, part of the Preferred Vendors category!
...



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2017, 05:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: new york
Age: 33
Posts: 3
Default How to Upgrading Uconnect Radio from 5 to 6.5 with GPS, what’s your opinion?

Decided to try so i bought one from ebay novsight
first of all i have a 2017 sport 4x4 jeep renegade

i found out that there is 2 different 6.5 uconnect. one with UCONNECT® ACCESS (you can start your, locate your car from your phone) and one without
to make difference, the UCONNECT® ACCESS has 4 fakra connectors (antennas) on the back while the other one only have 2

to remove the radio is pretty simple, first remove the bezel ( i used some old credit cards ) and then there is 4 screws (torx T25) that hold the radio
also make sure you buy the bezel that goes with 6.5, the 5 wont fit

connectors are the same, my car and probably all cars with 5 uconnect are missing the 3g/gps antenna cable, no big deal since you can buy them from ebay too.

1st issue, new radio has security code
2nd issue odometre is blinking
3rd issue my odometre was just 5100 but after installing the new radio, it went to 8300
4th issue, somehow UCONNECT® ACCESS is not there!!
5th issue, i have to transfer my sirius subscription from old to new radio

no big deal, result is amazing, its really huge difference, gps is cool, back up camera is better with the bigger screen..
now i am looking to upgrade the odometer from 3.5 to 7.

i have to visit the dealership to fix those issues, will update as soon as i get my car.









paulpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 05:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: new york
Age: 33
Posts: 3
Default

ww




----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
paulpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 05:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Member

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: new york
Age: 35
Posts: 1
Default

You are right guys, i was playing with the settings and changed from miles to km, was dark and didn't pay attention to the km, i confirm, miles are correct, new unit didn't affect mileage.
i didn't go to the dealership yet but i can say everything is working, beside odometre blinking, and the UCONNECT® ACCESS not showing up but i believe i have to call uconnect and ask them to reset the account..
radio was bought from US, also i have the donor VIN, I called the seller to get the code and i was able to unlock the radio.

i may wait until i get the 7-Inch Digital Cluster installed then visit the dealership to have everything programmed.






----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
more about search for "novsight" on website.

thomastim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




GM Truck Forum
Ford Raptor Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Camaro Forum
Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Dodge Ram Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Cadillac Forum
Cadillac XTS Forum