2002 dropped valve

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Roberte

Reaction score
Hello everyone
I'm new to the jeep liberty line although I did have a 2000 jeep cherokee 4.0l that I loved to drive. Anyways I just purchased a 2002 liberty sport with 179,000 miles and* a bad miss in #2 cylinder thinking it was a plug or a coil. The body is the selling point because it's pretty nice shape. After replacing all coils,plugs and cam sensor it did help it to start and idler better but the miss was still there. So I took it to a very good* repair shop that I use and after he put it on a scope ,compression test he pulled the valve cover . The rocker was off the valve lash adjuster so he put a new adjuster on and the rocker fell off again.
He said the valve seat had fallen down enough to where the lash adjuster couldn't hold the rocker on.
So I decided i will replace both heads seeing all the remarks after googling my problem that this is a known problem with these heads.
I did get the numbers off the right head and it is 53020984 and from all I've read the left side should be a 53020983.
My question is will other heads work ?
And is the passenger side or right side the problem child that everyone has trouble with? ?
I am thinking of doing it myself but I know the timing is the critical part of this job. So I'll refer to the manual I have for that (hopefully it has good instructions )

ltd02

Comfortably numb
KJ Supporting Member
Reaction score