The tow-rating jumps from 2,000 lbs to 5,000 lbs?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

The Jeep Driver

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to towing; the most I've pulled is a pick-up truck bed sized trailer full of firewood with my TJ. We just bought a travel trailer, I did some research into what my Jeep TJ and my wife's Jeep Liberty KK could tow. I later found out that while my Jeep TJ can pull it, stopping a 3,184 lbs. trailer is another thing entirely. The TJ has a two-rating of 2,000 lbs., the KK has a tow-rating of... 2,500 lbs. or 5,000 lbs. …depending on the presence of a "Trailer Tow Package." All I could find about the Trailer Tow Package was old posts on another Jeep forum (that I don't belong to)…

Towing capacity 5,000 pounds when properly equipped, Includes:
- 7-Pin Wiring Harness [I can add this.]
- 7-to-4-Pin Wiring Adaptor [I can add this.]
- Class III receiver hitch* [I can add this.]
- Full-Size Spare Tire [I can add this, if one will fit. I assume there's room.]
- Heavy Duty Engine Cooling [Mechanical fan; I can add this.]
- Power Steering Cooler [ALL KKs have this.]
- Trailer Sway Control [N/A; part of OEM programming.]
- Trailer Tow Group [What does this mean?]

So, basically I add a hitch, the wiring, and a mechanical fan, and I can double the tow weight? How? I know there are KK owners here that tow, I read your posts, I just want some affirmation that her KK can safely tow this 3,184 lbs. camper. My thought was, that with the brake assist, I would be okay with even the TJ. Well, I was wrong. When I suggested we sell the camper… you can only imagine the heat I'm getting from the wife. And the kids. You'd think I took away Christmas. :Nonono:
So, I need some advice before I make another bad decision ...

Last edited:

LibertyTC

Staff member
Reaction score