HOW TO: Tow Stuff (Hitches, Harnesses and Brakes)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Amarony

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey Folks. I've seen a lot of posts regarding hitches and wiring and brake controllers for towing over the last month or two and figured I'd try and give back a little to the Jeep community by doing a writeup for all the issues involved. I'll get to some more pics maybe when I'm a little more motivated. So here goes and hope you all enjoy. And as I'll say later, this is all from my own personal research and experience. I'm not a mechanic and don't pretend to be one. This is just a view of the towing world from my point of view. Sorry it's so damn long....

HITCHES, WIRING, BRAKES & BRAKE CONTROLLERS FOR TOWING by Dave

Let me first say there are definitely three issues for people wanting to tow stuff:

1) Getting a hitch (easy one).
2) Getting a wiring harness for your Libby to whatever you'll be towing (fairly easy but sometimes confusing).
3) Trailer Brakes and Brake Controllers. (Yes even those with a tow package need to pay some attention to this)

GENERAL INTRODUCTORY INFORMATION (JEEP TOWING CAPABILITIES and COOLING)