Go Back   Jeep Liberty Forum - JeepKJ Country > Jeep Liberty - KJ (02 to 07) > How To

Register to remove these ads.



How To

HOW TO: Remove Your Stock Radio.


This is a discussion on HOW TO: Remove Your Stock Radio. within the How To forums, part of the Jeep Liberty - KJ (02 to 07) category!
Register to remove these ads. It's free! How to remove the factory radio. Bennett...

In this section it explains how to do installations and modifications.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2004, 07:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Bennett's Avatar
Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Green Bay
Posts: 5,415
Send a message via AIM to Bennett
Default HOW TO: Remove Your Stock Radio.


Register to remove these ads. It's free!
How to remove the factory radio.



Bennett
Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 01:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: pa
Posts: 9
Default 2003 & 2005 Liberty's

We have 2 Jeep Libertys, a 2003 and a 2005. My problem is that I am not sure how to get behind the radio to hook up a Starmate Sirius receiver FM Modulator cable, so it is directly connected. I got the receivers in the back windows on the passenger sides and have had them there about a month, and use the power adapter there it works great like that, but due to the fact that it fades out, I bought 2 FM Cables to directly hook them into the radio, but need to hook them through the antenna plug behind the radio. Do these models with a cavity in the bottom and no ash tray, have the same trim panel removal as the one shown? I want to make sure I remove them without breaking them. Thanks, Jim
bearxox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 01:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
Bennett's Avatar
Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Green Bay
Posts: 5,415
Send a message via AIM to Bennett
Default

Get a flashlight and look inside the cavities to see if there is a screw... I don't have a liberty with a cavity, so I am not sure. I am guessing there will be one screw most likely. But for the most part it just pops out.

Bennett
Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 06:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: pa
Posts: 9
Default Screw

Found the screw on my 2005, gonna have to check the 2003 when it gets home, thanks again
bearxox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 04:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Midwest
Posts: 939
Default

Got a question. Our '02 Ltd has a tape player, larger numbers and it scrolls info (song, station, etc.). The '05 Renegade has a cd player, no tape player, doesn't scroll info and smaller numbers. Is it possible to do a swap. My wife would like the radio that's in the '02 in the '05.
dnm45227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 08:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
Bennett's Avatar
Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Green Bay
Posts: 5,415
Send a message via AIM to Bennett
Default

Originally Posted by dnm45227
Got a question. Our '02 Ltd has a tape player, larger numbers and it scrolls info (song, station, etc.). The '05 Renegade has a cd player, no tape player, doesn't scroll info and smaller numbers. Is it possible to do a swap. My wife would like the radio that's in the '02 in the '05.
Yup, the harness's should be the same. So it should just be a plug and play type thing.
Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 09:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 32
Default

My tip: to remove the trim around the radio, I found that a plastic spatula from the kichen worked great. Simply slip it into the gap on the passenger side, gently pry the clips loose, repeat at top, and then driver's side.

Oh, and to remove the radio, undo and remove the Phillips head screws, NOT the torx.

\/
jarvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2006, 08:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
wildhighlander's Avatar
Member

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6
Default THANKS!

I haven't yanked a stock radio out of a dash since 1989- thanks for the how-to. I am on the road a lot and was getting tired of swapping CDs with the old radio. Put a new CD/MP3 player in and it was a breeze. Now I can drive to Erie and back (5 hour trip) listening to the same CD! Thanks, love the site. =D>

You've inspired me to add an amp and a sub. (Purely to brush up on my automotive wiring skills of course.)
__________________
There are 2 kinds of people in this world: those that wring their hands and those that roll up their sleeves- which kind are you?
wildhighlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 03:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Member

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 11
Default

Bennett,

Where did you get that roof rack? I have got to get that! How much was it?

Andy
frascona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 11:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Guest

 
Posts: n/a
Default


Register to remove these ads. It's free!
I've have never worked on my car before but this looks kinda easy. what tools do I need? I have a new CD player a friend gave me I think I want to try to put it in myself.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




GM Truck Forum
Ford Raptor Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Camaro Forum
Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Dodge Ram Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Cadillac Forum
Cadillac XTS Forum