How-To Full Parking Brake Replacement

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

WickedBruce

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Just did mine today, and figured I should take a boat load of pictures and hopefully help someone out. I have zero knowledge about most vehicle related repairs...however, I do have a willingness to learn...and the wife always gets kind of weary and tells me to be careful haha...but I refuse to be ripped off. haha. So..here is a quick list of tools that I used starting from removing the tire all the way down:

Your KJ's Tool For Removing Lugnuts
A Jack
Jackstands!
1/2in Socket
Standard Needle-nose Pliers (or needle-nose vice grips)
Mini Needle-nose Pliers
Wire Brush
Flat Head Screwdriver (situational)
Parking Brake Multi-tool (optional)
Hammer (situational)

Let's get started!

Loosen the lugs. Jack her up
You must be registered for see images attach

Then toss under some jackstands. (I used two...cuz i'm weird like that)

Pull off the rubber

The caliper has two bolts. This one:

And this one:

Set the Caliper off to the side....no need to tie it up..

Pull off the rotor. (possible hammer use here)

Pull this side of the spring. Here I used the Multi-tool...but the pliers work just fine too...(I only used it because I spent $8 on it..so may as well)

Set it on the ground off to the side...this will start your physical diagram. Looking at the spring now you can see why the right side won't come off.

Grab the bottom spring (from either side..I'm a lefty) Place it in it's spot on your new diagram!

These clips are a real pain. In this picture I forgot to show how I got it off...but it's coming up on the other side! Once you pull off the clip, and the pin thru the back..the adjuster will probably fall, and your shoe will be completely detached as well

Set it down in its spot!