Go Back   Jeep Liberty Forum - JeepKJ Country > Jeep Liberty - KJ (02 to 07) > How To



How To

HOW TO: Change Transfer Case Position Switch


This is a discussion on HOW TO: Change Transfer Case Position Switch within the How To forums, part of the Jeep Liberty - KJ (02 to 07) category!
2004 Liberty 3.7L Part number 5083138AA Cost of switch from dealer $72.00 Special tools - 1-1/2" Socket- $19.99 3/4 to ...

In this section it explains how to do installations and modifications.


Like Tree54Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2010, 07:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Downtown's Avatar
Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Coon Rapids, MN
Posts: 63
Send a message via MSN to Downtown
Default HOW TO: Change Transfer Case Position Switch

2004 Liberty 3.7L

Part number 5083138AA

Cost of switch from dealer $72.00

Special tools -

1-1/2" Socket- $19.99

3/4 to 1/2 drive adapter - $6.99

1/2" drive extension, 12" long - $? I had one in the toolbox






Remove center console

IMG_0004-1.jpg IMG_0005-1.jpg


Remove the 4 nuts holding down the T-Case shift lever.
Note: The shift lever is attached to the t-case via a control cable.
IMG_0006-1.jpg


There it is just waiting for you!!
Note: Dirt sitting on top of your t-case can fall into the sensor hole when removed. Now is the time to brush it or blow it off.
IMG_0007-1.jpgIMG_0008-1.jpg



Remove the connector.
jp7794, fmurphy34, kidjedi and 6 others like this.

Last edited by Downtown; 03-22-2010 at 08:42 PM.
Downtown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Downtown's Avatar
Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Coon Rapids, MN
Posts: 63
Send a message via MSN to Downtown
Default

Get the tool on there and give it a heave.
Warning: When the sensor busted loose, The wrench(and my knuckles) hit the gear indicator bezel and it busted into 20 pieces. Be careful!!
IMG_0014-1.jpgIMG_0015-1.jpg



Swap the o-ring from the old to the new...
Doesn't seem wise to me but, the new one didn't have one.
IMG_0017-1.jpgIMG_0018-1.jpg

Install new sensor...

Re-assemble...
Downtown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
jnaut's Avatar
Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,237
Default

Dude, spread this how-to far and wide. I asked about this and researched it and while everyone said you could do it, the instructions were vague and indicated that you had to 'reach up above it' from under the vehicle.

Thanks and congrats.
__________________
-=Stock, but goin' places=-
04 3.7L Sport.
Auto Trans
Yokohama Geolandar AT/S 235/70/R16
Electronics: Garmin nuVi 265t GPS/ScanGauge II/Cobra 1500 watt (3000 peak) Inverter
Mileage trend:

I'm doing God's work...because he's too f*@$%ing lazy to do it himself.
jnaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 08:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Downtown's Avatar
Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Coon Rapids, MN
Posts: 63
Send a message via MSN to Downtown
Default

Originally Posted by jnaut View Post
Dude, spread this how-to far and wide. I asked about this and researched it and while everyone said you could do it, the instructions were vague and indicated that you had to 'reach up above it' from under the vehicle.

Thanks and congrats.

Thanks!

I did the same research and I agree...

Also, some of the things out there we not quite truthful (for replacement on 2004 KJ)

1. IMO - imposssible to reach 'reach up above it' from under the vehicle (with any useful tool that could remove it... I tried)

2. NOT a 10 minute job (give youself 1hr to 2hrs (4-12 beers ))

3. It's NOT a $20 part - I looked far and wide and the only 2 places that had it was the dealer by my house ($96.00) and the dealer by my work ($72.00) - Minneapolis/St. Paul Metro area

Last edited by Downtown; 03-22-2010 at 09:23 PM.
Downtown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 03:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
jnaut's Avatar
Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,237
Default

Originally Posted by Downtown View Post
Thanks!

I did the same research and I agree...

Also, some of the things out there we not quite truthful (for replacement on 2004 KJ)

1. IMO - imposssible to reach 'reach up above it' from under the vehicle (with any useful tool that could remove it... I tried)

2. NOT a 10 minute job (give youself 1hr to 2hrs (4-12 beers ))

3. It's NOT a $20 part - I looked far and wide and the only 2 places that had it was the dealer by my house ($96.00) and the dealer by my work ($72.00) - Minneapolis/St. Paul Metro area
Word, when mine failed (before it mysteriously fixed itself) I reached up there and sure, I could feel it up there, but dang if I could have gotten it out. Now I know if it breaks again... and of course doesn't mysteriously fix itself, I can swap it out.
__________________
-=Stock, but goin' places=-
04 3.7L Sport.
Auto Trans
Yokohama Geolandar AT/S 235/70/R16
Electronics: Garmin nuVi 265t GPS/ScanGauge II/Cobra 1500 watt (3000 peak) Inverter
Mileage trend:

I'm doing God's work...because he's too f*@$%ing lazy to do it himself.
jnaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 02:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Somerville, OH
Posts: 3
Default

I suppose you've been seing the part-time light in the dash even though the 4x4 shifter is down?

Thanks for the write up.
meh_kick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 04:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Downtown's Avatar
Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Coon Rapids, MN
Posts: 63
Send a message via MSN to Downtown
Default

Originally Posted by meh_kick View Post
I suppose you've been seing the part-time light in the dash even though the 4x4 shifter is down?

Thanks for the write up.


Yes that is correct...

The t-case would be in 2HI with the "PART TIME" light on

And, when in 4HI the "PART TIME" light would be off

4LO worked fine
nohitter64 likes this.
Downtown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 06:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
sevenhelmet's Avatar
Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ridgecrest, CA
Posts: 675
Default

It looks like a simple push button toggle switch. Mine is obviously switching since the light goes on and off with the lever, just the opposite way. What about taking the switch out and pressing it once with your finger to "un-flip" it so it will indicate correctly? Is that a possibility, or does the switch absolutely have to be changed?

Also, should the 4LO light be on with the transfer case lever in neutral?
__________________
2005 Nissan XTerra S with 32" Maxxis Mudders, rock sliders, On-Board Air with Air Horn, Cobra CB, 2m/70cm HAM radio, Jerry Can roof rack, (more mods coming)

SOLD: 2003 KJ 5-speed Sport 4x4, OME lifted, Soft 8s, EVIC, Cobra 75WXST

Last edited by sevenhelmet; 03-23-2010 at 06:11 PM.
sevenhelmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 06:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
Downtown's Avatar
Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Coon Rapids, MN
Posts: 63
Send a message via MSN to Downtown
Default

Originally Posted by sevenhelmet View Post
It looks like a simple push button toggle switch. Mine is obviously switching since the light goes on and off with the lever, just the opposite way. What about taking the switch out and pressing it once with your finger to "un-flip" it so it will indicate correctly? Is that a possibility, or does the switch absolutely have to be changed?

Also, should the 4LO light be on with the transfer case lever in neutral?


I found this -

"The sensor consists of a five position, resistive multiplexed circuit which returns a specific resistance value to the Powertrain Control Module (PCM) for each transfer case operating mode." - http://townhall.edmunds.com/direct/view/.f19a95d

What this means is: The PCM measures how far the plunger has been pushed in and looks for 5 different values (positions).

So... No, you won't be able to 'un-flip' it - Think of it more like a sensor

Using the term "switch" is a little misleading... But, that's what the dealer called it.

I think that something conductive got past the seals in the switch/sensor.

Also, I am pretty sure you shouldn't see "4LO" on your cluster when in t-case neutral. This, IMO, is just another symptom of a bad t-case position switch/sensor

Last edited by Downtown; 04-08-2011 at 09:47 AM.
Downtown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 08:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
sevenhelmet's Avatar
Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ridgecrest, CA
Posts: 675
Default

That makes sense- if it's one position "off", then the light would go out in 4HI because the switch "thinks" it's actually in neutral.

Looks like I might have to buy the replacement after all.
__________________
2005 Nissan XTerra S with 32" Maxxis Mudders, rock sliders, On-Board Air with Air Horn, Cobra CB, 2m/70cm HAM radio, Jerry Can roof rack, (more mods coming)

SOLD: 2003 KJ 5-speed Sport 4x4, OME lifted, Soft 8s, EVIC, Cobra 75WXST

Last edited by sevenhelmet; 03-23-2010 at 08:54 PM.
sevenhelmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




GM Truck Forum
Ford Raptor Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Camaro Forum
Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Dodge Ram Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Cadillac Forum
Cadillac XTS Forum