Wire Run for Backup Cam

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Mrpullam

Reaction score
Hello, I’m currently planning out a reverse camera installation for my 2004 library but I’m having trouble finding the best way to run the wire from the back outside of the car inside to the head unit.

I was wondering what suggestions you all had. I want to try and avoid drilling holes which I have seen some people do.

Im new to this and am just hoping there’s a way to do it which I’ve just overlooked.

- Thank you all in advance

cplchris

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I will be doing the same thing, here are my ideas so far:

mount the camera inside the vehicle looking through the rear window, (not my favorite idea because it isn't very beneficial)

mounting the camera in place of the center cap on the spare tire, removing the rear wiper assembly and using the hole as a pass through for the wire (running the wire through tubing between the camera and hole for the rear wiper)

bumper mounting the camera and running the wire through the opening for the tail light wiring.

getting a spare taillight housing and mounting the camera in one of the tail lights.

my favorite idea for functionality of the camera is the spare center cap option becuase it would be the ideal height and it would be protected from the elements, but i worry about the wire shorting in the transition boot.

the tailight idea is in 2nd place only because of the offset camera angle.

Mrpullam

Reaction score
I do like the spare tire cap idea. It is quite interesting (and something I hadn’t even thought of). It would put the camera at an ideal height in my opinion and there’s a pretty clear pathway to run the wire.