Rookie needs help with tires/rims before I make a costly mistake.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

TheCluelessOne

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hi, Im a total rookie at doing car work but want to upgrade to some beefier/bigger wheels for some mild off-roading several times a year.

2007 Jeep Liberty Limited:
Rims 17x7.5
Current Tire: 235/65R17

Questions:

1. I was hoping to upgrade to a 245/70R16 tire size but I now believe that is impossible without changing the rims. Am I correct in assuming that tire wont fit due to my 17x7.5 rim?

2. If I am correct that it wont fit then what is the biggest tire I can upgrade to on my current rim? (If even possible)

3. What all terrain tires should I consider if I have to stay the same size tire? Unfortunately the Firestone Destination A/T are the best I can find in my current size so far, I would like General Grabber AT2's.

4. So if I can't get the 245/70R16 on my current rim what is the LEAST amount of modifications to make them work? Im okay with minor rubbing like the wiki said. I need backspacers I guess??? Do I need them for both the front and back? I also would have to buy new rims obviously. Where can I find "16x8" Jeep Wrangler Rubicion wheels (Moab Wheels)" as recommended in the wiki?

Links to products Id need would be very appreciated. Thanks in advance! Glad to be here! :signs75:

CzarKJ

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Welcome before we can dive into it... What is your current setup? Any lift at all? Can you measure from the middle of the hub directly up to the bottom of the fender flare for us?

TheCluelessOne

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Bone Stock..."Trail Rated" for whatever that is worth

I think I measured what you asked for correctly...the middle of the hubcap to the lowest part of the fender directly above. Measurement worked out to 18 1/8 inches