Rear diff question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Chris H.

Reaction score
Hey all!
I'm new to the community, and in fact new to Jeeps, having just bought my first- a 2004 KJ Rocky Mountain, and so far I love it.
The Jeep seems to run well, but I have a question, which I have tried Googling and searching here to find an answer, with no luck.
Now, I'm no mechanic but do have decent mechanical skill and knowledge. I believe I understand basically how an open diff and LSD work. Now I'm not sure if my jeep has the Trac Loc or not, but I don't believe it has anything to do with this anyway.
The situation is: when I'm in 2wd, slow tight turns- no problem, outer rear wheel spins further/ faster than inner rear wheel (open diff). As soon as I put it into 4wd (either high or low) its almost like the rear diff is locking, inner rear wheel now spins at same rate as outer wheel, causing it to skip/ spin in the dirt. I have tried this several times on different surfaces (all dirt) with the same result.
Is there something I'm missing here- I don't think this is normal. Maybe I don't understand how it works as well as I thought. If someone can explain why it is doing this, or if in fact there is something wrong with my jeep, or just any ideas, it would be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
Chris

rjkj2005

Full Access Member
Reaction score
It's because the front and back are locked together in parttime. In a turn the back wheels don't move as fast as the front so they bind. Part time is to only be used on wet, snow, dirt, mud, never on dry pavement.
To tell if you have LSD. Jack up the rear so both wheels are off the ground. Spin one side. If the other moves in the same direction you have LSD. If it turns the opposite way you have an open differential.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

LibertyTC

Staff member
Reaction score