"Dead" cylinder with compression??

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Vgirl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hi, hoping someone can shed light on this.

I'm being told one cylinder is dead in my 3.7L v6. But it has 140 psi of compression. I'm not a mechanic nor engineer. I'm not an idiot either so common sense would lead me to believe dead cylinder = 0 psi. When I asked the mechanic, "how does a dead cylinder give compression?" he said that is what he couldn't figure out.

How is this possible? And what could be causing it? Is it a telling symptom of something specific?

Any thoughts are appreciated.
Thank you!!

ElCheapo

Full Access Member
Reaction score
What do you consider a "dead" cylinder?
Typically, that would be one without ignition (spark). So, is there good spark?
It could have good compression with a stuck valve, are the valves working properly? Broken rockers happen on the V6's.
You might need a better mechanic.

Vgirl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
What do you consider a "dead" cylinder?
Typically, that would be one without ignition (spark). So, is there good spark?
It could have good compression with a stuck valve, are the valves working properly? Broken rockers happen on the V6's.
You might need a better mechanic.

Thank you, ElCheapo.

I consider a "dead" cylinder as non-functional in some critical way. I've no clue what the mechanic considers it as.

Unsure if it has spark. I was told injectors, coils, and plugs plus pcv valve and breather hoses were replaced. "Runs better than it did but no change in the cylinder." Haven't been told anything about valves or rockers. (In reading thru the forums for days now, I understand Jeep plugs should be copper NPK?? Unsure if the mechanic used those or not and if not, if that would make a difference in spark?)